Doctor Who 3rd Doctor - 25/11/32

Freak (affectionate). I'm really enjoying UNIT having such a central role, and I think 3rd is an excellent character.


Doctor Who 2nd Doctor - 4/11/23

There he is!!!! My little weirdo!!!! I like him a lot, I think his little space hobo weirdo routine is very funny. He's soft with his companions as well, which I always enjoy. Jamie McCrimmon is also great, It's very cool to see a historical companion. I liked a lot of 2nd's episones, and I think his regeneration plotline was very good. I particularly enjoy plots where a character has to pretend to side with their enemies and is in danger from their allies, so even though it was very short I enjoyed seeing that. I also love the Time Lords showing up- love to hate those assholes. I want to study 2nd like a bug.


Doctor Who 1st Doctor - 1/11/23

It's a bit of a weak start to the series, to be honest. While I like the first doctor and think he's a fun character, I think he would need stronger writing and better themes to be good enough to hold his seasons up. He's basically a worse 12th. I only watched his first few episodes and his last episode. I think also the way he treats women put me off- I can ignore bits of dated sexism, but he's very overt about it. I'm not really a fan of the historical plots either so this one didn't really do it for me.


Fable's Media Journal

BBC Sherlock - 19/09/2023

Sherlock BBC sucks SO bad. and yet. and yet. Theres something there, in amongst the terrible character writing, interpersonal drama that kills my interest, queerbaiting, convuluted mysteries and a straight up hatred for their watchers. Perhaps it's simply that the first episode was rather good. Maybe I'm just very fond of the character dynamic between a genius and a loyal man. I like mystery shows, and I do like the Sherlock mythos. It's just very poorly executed.

The fourth season is very bad, which is a shame because there is a very interesting idea there - a man who deletes his own memories can be the center of a fascinating mystery.


Star wars - 01/09/2023


Beacon Pines - 13/08/2023

Well then. this game made me cry. It's a gussied up viual novel about kids discovering the secrets of their town, and it is so charmingly written. It has some excellent plot twists that are nicely foreshadowed. My favourite character was probably the villain, as he was such a funny combination of clever and stupid that made for some excellent moments. The way choices are presented in this is super cool, it allows a lot of freedon of play without letting you get the true ending straight away.

And speaking of endings. whoa boy. all of the endings are so good. they hurt so bad but god are they gorgeously painful. The art only enchances this, with lovingly rendered character portraits and a strong style and theme throughout.


Attack on Titan - 01/07/2023

I got back into AOT last month, and it's been eating my brain. brainworms. It has a bunch of drama around whether or not it's facist, but honestly i'm too stupid to have an opinion. I really like both the early premise and the later premise after the twist.

AOT has some very good, detailed characters with very morally grey personalities, and we have seen how they act in terrible situations. It means you have an incredibly clear idea of who they are as a person.

I really enjoy Titan Eren fics, owing to my love of non-human characters interactign with humans, and exploring the mindsets and cultures of non-humans. I really wish there were more of them. I wish there were more that commited to canon divergence, too. EMA and 104th is fun and all but its in almost every Titan Eren fic. I'd like to see some diversity.

I would also love to see some fanfiction or even just a list of headcanons regarding crossovers that have the island moving to another world. It seems like a nice way to let the characters actually have a chance and a happyish ending. It has nothing to do with my longstanding obsession with communities being isekai-ed into rural areas. don't look at me